mrs. cavin
The yearbook dedication was made to Mrs. J.E. Cavin, the Home Economics teacher.  "For your years of service to us, your unfailing friendship, your expert leadership, and your undying affection to each of us as an individual, and as a group, the Junior Class of 1957-58 take this opportunity to dedicate this edition of The Lookout to you."

Mr. Robert "Bob" Shigley was the school principal.

Glenda Purcell was crowned the 1957 Homecoming Queen by the 1956 Queen, Jeanette Baker.

Mr. Paul Hosmer was the advisor to the Future Farmers of America.

"The annual staff of 1958 presents in honorable memory of Hubert Atkins this edition of the Lookout.  Hubert will always be remembered by his wonderful personality, his warm smile, his lively spirit; these will never fade from the halls of Menlo High.  We remember him as a member of the football and basketball teams and also a wonderful friend of everyone in school.  His laugher will ring in the hearts of all of his classmates and friends even though he has gone to a better place. The memory of Hubert as a dear, beloved friend will always be in our hearts."

According to the yearbook, Atkins was a member of Menlo's first football team in 1955.  During the 1956 season, Atkins became ill and was hospitalized.  By the 1957 football season, Atkins, a senior, was diagnosed with cancer.  The yearbook states that "every effort was made by his school mates to give him a happy Christmas."  He died on Saturday, January 5, 1958.

The football team won 8 of 9 games, losing only to Dade County.

Football cheerleaders included, from left to right, (top row) Sue Ashworth, Glenda Purcell, and Carol Ward; (bottom row) Mary A. Clark, Nanci Welch, and Betty S. Willingham.

The girls basketball team included, from left to right, (front row) Ellen Mauney, Glenda Purcell, Mary Anne Clark, Carol Ward, Betty Huskey, and Nanci Welch; (top row) Ann Mitchell, Jeanette Jennings, Coach Trice Ayers, Betty Willingham, Sue Ashworth, and Joyce Hall.

The boys basketball team included, from left to right, (front row) Carlton McClung, Edwin Wilson, and Wayne Brown; (top row) Fred Eller, Bobby Jackson, and Leon Mitchell.

Thanks to Barbara Crowe Hammett for the 1958 Menlo Yearbook.

Return to Menlo Yearbooks page

Return to Yearbook Highlights page

Return to Home page  

Copyright 2012 Greg W. McCollum.  All rights reserved.