1959 Summerville Softball Champions

These 14 men from Georgia Rug Mill were Summerville's 1959 Slow Pitch Softball Champions. Shown are, from left to right, (front row) Bill Edwards, Bobby Brown, Roy Cox, Ralph Brown, Gordon Wofford, Billy Norton, and Jackie Conkle; (back row) Jim Hawkins, Burl Gayler, Bubba Dunson, Joe Stephenson, Billy Smithson, Junior Lawson, and Carlton Reynolds.

They won 13 of 15 games in the 6-team league. Ralph Brown was team captain and is shown holding the Summerville Recreation Center trophy.

Photograph by T.Emmett Nunn. Courtesy of Chattooga Library. Information from the Chattooga Democrat. A similar photograph appeared in the February 10, 1960 edition of the newspaper.

Copyright 2013 Greg W. McCollum.  All rights reserved.