beta club
The Beta Club officers, under the sponsorship of Mrs. Sally Coulliette and Mrs. Lola James, were Denise Coward, Dale Gentry, Teresa Gentry, Steven Strickland, and Tammy Evett.  (names not listed in order in yearbook) 

lyre club
The Lyre Club was sponsored by Mr. Barry Gilreath.  The officers were Vickie Newman, Lyn Smith, Angie Richardson, and Melodye Busbin. (The above students were not clearly identified in the yearbook.)

The Y-Club was sponsored by Mr. Turner and Mrs. Gilreath.

quill and scroll
The Quill and Scroll was an honorary organization for Juniors and Seniors involved with the Sequoyah yearbook and Indian Lore newspaper.

football team
The 1976 Chattooga High School Indians football team.

band members
The Saxaphone and Horn section of the marching band included, from left to right, (front) Mae Shropshire, Melody Busbin, Angela Whaley, and Lejean Gilmer; (back) Jeff Gilreath, Nancy Green, Chris Duke, Molly Willingham, and Robert Davis.

basketball players
The varsity basketball team included (L-R) Lee London, Lawayne Price, Derwin Wiggins, Eric Mann, Ronny Payton, Ephran Price, Ralph Price, Larry Stamper, Mark London, Tim Young, Dan Cleveland, and Rayvon Foster.

team managers
The basketball team managers were (front) Lawrence Sharp and Wayne London; (back) Tim Adams, Jarvis Hudgins, and Sam Mosteller.

coach mayo
"Coach Jack Mayo, who taught in Chattooga County for seven years, left with a basketball record of 109 wins and 54 losses.  He took Chattooga to the State Tournaments for three consecutive years:  1973, 1974, and 1975.  This was truly a record to be proud of."

girls basketball
The girls varsity basketball team included (L-R) Kia Evans, Rhonda Hudgins, Wanda Mitchell, Julia Brison, Mamie Clarkson, Juangula Mosteller, Lynn Gilley, Paige Jones, Susan Head, Joanna Lanier, and Darlene Reese.

baseball team
The baseball team included, from left to right, (front row) Mike Smith, Jimmy Smith, Kenny Lacky, Mark Weaver, Tinker Loveless, Zack Martin, Gerald Stewart, and Mike Bennett; (middle row) Gene Noles, Jerome Black, Mike Alexander, Rayvon Foster, Preston Cash, and Terrell Perry; (back row) Ronny Payton, Scott Selman, Thomas Baker, and Randy Elrod.

mr and miss chs
Mr. and Miss CHS were elected by the students to represent the spirit of the school.  Max Treadaway and Julia Brison won the honor for 1977.

  Back to Summerville/Chattooga Yearbooks  

  Back to Yearbook Highlights

  Back to Home page  

copyright 2013 Greg W. McCollum.  All rights reserved.